About Commission on Local Government

The Commission on Local Government promotes and preserves the viability of Virginia’s local governments by fostering positive intergovernmental relations. The Commission assists counties, cities and towns in the commonwealth in the following ways:

The commission is composed of five members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Virginia General Assembly. The members are required by statute to have knowledge and experience in local government, and they can hold no other elective or appointive office while on the commission. Commission members are appointed for five-year terms and are eligible for reappointment. 

The commission holds regular meetings once every two months. Special meetings of the commission may be called by any member and must be held on such occasions as may be reasonably necessary to carry out their duties.