Task Force for Local Government Mandate Review

Local governments face serious challenges when trying to balance their budgets during complex financial times. This difficulty is exacerbated when the state places burdensome mandates on localities. This task force identified mandates imposed on localities that are overly burdensome or unnecessary and recommended appropriate changes, providing relief to local governments.

In 2011, the General Assembly approved legislation to create this task force, which consisted of five members who served at the pleasure of the Governor. The legislation specifically charged the task force “to review state mandates imposed on localities and to recommend temporary suspension or permanent repeal of such mandates, or any other action as appropriate.”


On July 18, 2014, Governor McAuliffe announced these appointments to the task force:
The Honorable Mimi Elrod, PhD, Mayor, City of Lexington
Gary Larrowe, County Administrator, Botetourt County
Marcus Newsome, EdD, Superintendent, Petersburg City Public Schools
Wyatt Shields, City Manager, City of Falls Church
The Honorable George Wallace, Former Mayor, City of Hampton

This task force expired on July 1,2018.


Meeting Agendas and Minutes for meetings prior to
April 2014 can be accessed by clicking here.
Click "look for earlier events" below for meeting materials after April 2014